Month: May 2008

  • A new weird sensation...

    We visited our good friends Julia and Jeff at home a week after their baby Kayla was born.

    Seeing Julia with Kayla made me realize how beautiful, pure and instinctual a mother and child's relationship is. I suddenly felt this reverence for Julia as she picked up Kayla and craddled her into her arms and then carefully started to breastfeed her hungry baby. At that moment I realized Julia was a mom.

    On the way home I felt this odd ache in my heart. I started to think about what I was feeling and knew that it was the physical response to seeing Kayla and Julia. I knew then that my body yearned to carry a child one day. I felt so sure in my heart that I was meant to be a mom. Not  today or this year but  one day soon. Every cell in my body felt like it was touched by baby Kayla.